Printed 02/27/2023, 11:40 AM EST

Combined Martial Arts is a sport that may usually be brutal and unforgiving. Some of the memorable moments in MMA is when a fighter lands a brutal knockout punch that leaves their opponent unconscious on the canvas. The sound of the affect, the silence that follows, and the fighter’s celebration could be each awe-inspiring and unsettling on the similar time.

Names like Conor McGregor, Jorge Masvidal, Leon Edwards, Michael Chandler, and Kamaru Usman have landed among the most memorable knockouts of MMA historical past. Not too long ago, followers witnessed one other brutal knockout, however this time, everybody didn’t look very happy.

Khamzat Chimaev’s Companion Bernardo Sopai Knocks Out Julien Lopez

ADVERTISEMENT Article continues beneath this advert

The newest instance of a brutal knockout is Bernardo Sopai’s victory over Julien Lopez at FCR 15. Sopai is the coaching associate of Khamzat Chimaev. Within the bantamweight championship bout, Sopai landed a devastating punch that despatched Lopez crashing to the canvas. The ability of the punch was sufficient to cease Lopez in his tracks, and it was clear that he was unconscious earlier than he hit the bottom. Nonetheless, Sopai didn’t cease there. He adopted up with a second punch to the face of his grounded opponent.

View this publish on Instagram A publish shared by FCR-Struggle Membership Rush (

Right here is how followers reacted to this –

One fan stated – “No observe up shot was wanted in any respect”

One fan commented – “Comply with up shot was a weak act – poor type.”

One defended the coaching associate of Khamzat Chimaev by saying – “Those that say the final punch wasn’t crucial don’t appear to grasp MMA, so they need to follow tennis or one thing else”

One other fan stated – “Hearth however why the pointless following shot 😩”

One fan even stated – “Did the second punch even connect with something in any respect? Appears to be like like he hit the ground and nothing else”


Khamzat Chimaev’s Coach Gives Lacking Particulars of “$2,000,000” Provide to Nate Diaz: “When Issues Have been Thrown at Him…”

One other one commented – “Final shot was kinda uncalled for.”

One fan commented – “The way in which he when down tells you he was out the fallow up shot was simply Chilly blooded”.

ADVERTISEMENT Article continues beneath this advert

Was The Second Punch Needed?

An analogous query was requested to Jorge Masvidal when the UFC welterweight knocked out Ben Askren. Masvidal adopted up with some sturdy blows to an unconscious Askren until the referee stopped the combat. ‘Gamebred’ responded by saying that the punches had been “tremendous crucial”. Masvidal then went on to clarify that his job as a fighter is to combat until the referee pulls him off, and that’s precisely what he did.

ADVERTISEMENT Article continues beneath this advert

Ought to a fighter cease hitting their opponent as soon as they’re clearly unconscious, or ought to they proceed till the referee intervenes? The reply is just not as easy as one may assume. Usually, it’s accepted {that a} fighter ought to cease as soon as their opponent is unconscious. Nonetheless, there are conditions the place a follow-up strike is important to finish the combat. What do you concentrate on it? Remark down beneath.

Watch This Story – Conor McGregor Accused Of Ducking Jorge Masvidal